Since X-Cart creates a customer account even if a buyer prefers not to sign up, there can be a case that the email is used for guest checkout, and X-Cart creates an anonymous customer account for this email. Then the same email is used for a store sign-up, and X-Cart creates a registered customer account. As a result, a store has two customer accounts registered for the same email containing some order history. A store admin can merge such customer accounts to keep all customer info in the same place.

  • X-Cart 5.4.x - Users > Users List

  • X-Cart 5.5.x - Store > Users



    NOTE: In X-Cart 5.5.x, a store administrator can manage customer accounts separately from the rest of the store users. For customer data maintenance, refer to the Communication > Customers section.


    The maintenance procedures are the same regardless of the page.


Accordingly, if you see users with the same email address in the user list of your store Admin area - one with the access level "Customer" and another one with the access level "Anonymous" - you can merge these accounts.

To do so, follow the steps below:

  1. Open the Account Details page of the user with the access level "Anonymous":

    • X-Cart 5.4.x

    • X-Cart 5.5.x

  2. Check for the account duplication record in the Access Information section of the page and click the Merge with Registered button:

  3. That's it! The profiles have been merged into one registered account.

If you check the user list, your store will have only one customer account registered for this email. This account will contain the order history and the address book changes from registered and anonymous accounts.

Related pages:

Did this answer your question?