To log in and use the store features as a registered user, a user must have the "Enabled" status. That is the default status set for a user profile at the moment of account creation.

A root administrator and an administrator with user management permissions can disable a user account (i.e., reset this status to "Disabled") to block the user from using the store. This is possible for all user accounts except anonymous customers.

If a user with the "Disabled" status attempts to log in, they will get:

Error: Invalid login or password.

If the user is already logged in and using the store, when an administrator disables their account, their user session is terminated, and the user gets logged out and cannot log back in again.

If the user is a vendor (see X-Cart Marketplace section for details), any mention of their account and business is removed from the storefront, including the vendor page and any products that belong to this vendor. Suppose somebody attempts to access a page associated with this vendor or their products via a previously bookmarked link. In that case, they will get the message:

Šccess denied (Unfortunately, you don't have permission to access this page. Please contact the administrator).

To disable a user:

  1. Open the User List in your store's Admin area.

    • X-Cart 5.4.x - Users > Users List

    • X-Cart 5.5.x - Store Management > Users

  2. Locate the user you want to disable in the list and open the account details.

  3. Select Disabled in the Account status drop-down in the Access Information section of the Account Details page.

  4. Click Update to confirm account deletion.

The user will be marked disabled in the user list.

Read on:

Related pages:

Did this answer your question?