To access the store as one of the registered customers, you need to be an administrator user with root access (equals the role "Administrator") or an administrator with any custom role, including the "Manage users" permission.

To use the feature:

  1. Locate the customer profile you require in the user list and click the email address to open the customer account.

    • X-Cart 5.4.x - Users > Users List

    • X-Cart 5.5.x - Store > Users


    NOTE: In X-Cart 5.5, a store administrator can manage customer accounts separately from the rest of the store users. For customer data maintenance, refer to the Communications > Customers section.


    The maintenance procedures are the same regardless of the page.


  2. From the Profile actions drop-down, choose the "Operate as this customer" action:


    As a result, the storefront homepage will open in a new browser tab. You will see the "You are operating as customer_email_address" message at the top of the screen. You will also see the "You are operating as: customer_name, customer_email_address" overlay with the Quit button:

  3. Work in the browser tab where the storefront has been opened as if you were this customer.


    Since the "Operate as this customer" mode is typically used by X-Cart store administrators to create orders on behalf of customers, the administrator must have an offline payment method for creating orders when operating as customer users. For this reason, we made the "Phone Ordering" payment method available in the storefront to administrators working in the "Operate as this customer" mode - even if this method was disabled in the Admin area. That is a default store behavior of the "Operate as this customer" mode. The payment option is visible only to the administrator working as a customer; customers working under their accounts will not see or use this method.


  4. To quit using the "Operate as this customer" mode, click the Quit button in the overlay.


    Alternatively, switch back to the tab with your Admin area and do any action requiring the page reload (for example, go to a different page within the Admin area). You will see a notification that you have finished operating as the customer:

Related pages:

Did this answer your question?